Amboy, Washington

Shopping, Real Estate, Bars/Taverns, Restaurants, Personal Care & Community

[ History ] "Mascot" ] Music ] Weddings ] Join the NCHM ]

Custom Search


History of The Amboy Evangelical United Brethren Church

Written by Anna Rosencrans

Reverend Dora Young came to Clark County in 1907 to take charge of the View United Brethren Church, known as the Hazen Chapel.

While pastor there, she began her most notable service. On March 1st, 1909, she walked to Amboy and organized a Sunday School.

In August of the same year, a camp meeting was held in Amboy which led to the organizing of the United Brethren Church, known as the Dora Young Chapel.

Later, it was known as the Amboy United Brethren Church; then after the merger with the Evangelical Church, as the Amboy Evangelical United Brethren Church.

On September 25th, 1910, the dedication of the church was held with Rev. Dora Young, Rev. J.L. Garret, and Rev. D. R. Peterson pastors present. The church was largely built and financed through Rev. Young's efforts

The finishing of the church basement was during the pastorate of Rev. Wortman between 1936 and 1941.

In the disastrous Easter fire of 1960, the church was saved by a miracle.

The plans now are to build a new parsonage on the M. C. Abrahanson lot, lately purchased. The present pastor is Floyd S. Magsig.

The church disbanded in 1964. The property became private ownership until 1988 when it was purchased by the North Clark Historical Museum, a non-profit corporation, for the purpose of developing a museum. A Dedication and Open House was held June 24, 2000, showcasing the renovation. The developmental phase is in progress to accommodate the many artifacts that have been accepted for display.

Visit Clark WA cities: Amboy, Battle Ground, Brush Prairie, Camas / Washougal,
La Center, Ridgefield, Vancouver, Woodland & Yacolt
  Go to Portland
Home ] Site Index ] Contact Us ]
Copyright 1997 - 2015 All City Net